Dokter Blog: from the desk of Rahajeng Tunjungputri

Medicine et cetera by @ajengmd

Semester Exam of Genetic Counseling

I had the semester exam this week in my Master Programme of Genetic Counseling FMDU. I really had to focus on these exams, because as you can see, within 6 days I had 19 different exam subjects, and not much time, energy nor interest in anything else other than preparing myself for these exams.

And the menu for those 6 long days were:

  1. Psychiatry – Grief and bad news, Counseling in children with congenital or genetic abnormalities
  2. Psychology – Helping theory, Development of helping relationship, Genetic Counseling
  3. Obgyn – Psychosocial aspect of fetomaternal cases, Prenatal diagnosis
  4. Endocrinology – Genetics of Diabetes Melitus
  5. Neurology – Myotonic dystrophy, Parkinson Disease, Spinal Muscular Atrophy, Ataxia
  6. Mitochondrial medicine
  7. Immunogenetics – Blood group and HLA
  8. Molecular biology – Gonadal development, Molecular basic, Sexual development disorder
  9. Medical ethics – Bioethics, Professional ethics
  10. Pediatric endocrinology – Basic physical measurement, Cytogenetics, Genetic screening, Genetic disorders
  11. Endocrinology – Genetics of thyroid diseases (congenital hypothyroidism, autoimmune disease, malignancy)
  12. Pediatric urology – Congenital adrenal hypertrophy, Androgen insensitivity syndrome
  13. Pediatric neurology – Epilepsy, Myasthenia gravis, Muscular dystrophy
  14. Embryology – Genetics of embryology, teratology
  15. Immunogenetics – Immunodeficiency, Genetics of immune system
  16. Cancer genetics
  17. Biomolecular aspect of thalassemia
  18. Inborn error of metabolism

*Reenactment of my exam preparation by a model (image is not mine)

And the exam week was particularly challenging because I had what looked almost identical to this (WARNING: This is NOT my picture), the cause I presumed was psychological stress which leads to immune dysregulation (due to exam and several other things… such as my passport issues -Not to be discussed here):

*Reenactment of my canker sores (image is not mine)

Note that it was a large and deep ulcer, heavily inflammed and located on the side of the tongue. When I talk the tongue (and ulcer) is hitting my lips and my teeth, when I sleep the tongue dried and sticked to my palate, and OUCH!!! Basically, the ulcer made eating, drinking, speaking, studying, answering my exam, sleeping, and living, in general, very difficult and extremely painful, each and every minute.

I guess we’ll see the result of the exam in the next few weeks, but generally I’m content and satisfied realizing how broad my studies were in the past 6 months. Considering that my main interest is infectious disease, the opportunity of learning genetics and psychology has been a privilege. I explored the subjects I never really thought about learning before (psychology, counseling, embryology) and I even enjoy them!

And what I truly love from the master programme is: you have this whole new world of knowledge and science opening up, and you are free to explore it for yourself!

*

– Rahajeng

https://dokterblog.wordpress.com

PS: And YES, as the exam finishes, my stomatitis is healing.

Filed under: miscelaneous, , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

png twitter

Follow my Twitter @ajengmd

Disclaimer

Medicine is a growing field, and information presented here is reflective of the time of posting. Please refer to your physician for direct medical consultation. My views do not reflect those of my employers. --
Regards, Rahajeng

