Dokter Blog: from the desk of Rahajeng Tunjungputri

Medicine et cetera by @ajengmd

Twittering medicine and science

My relationship with twitter has not been the most mutual, but when I got to the ground zero of boredom I came back to do some twittering around (by now if you haven’t realized what twitter is, you should just let Uncle Google explain). Anyway, due to my enormous capacity and stamina to read and surf the net, I found so many new science writers and medical writers on twitter. OK reading journal articles are exhausting after a while, but pop science is always somewhat lighter and more fun to read (and good to share with students in the class). So I started going through the tweets, and found interesting articles whether in journals (my fave: Nature and NEJM) or on science blogs (I always love to see how these science writers look like: a nerdy nerd/mad scientist or a hippie in the mad world of science).

I’m sorry, but I belong in this universe where scientific advances are entertainment, writers are celebrities, scientists are even more famous celebrities, and science writers are rock-stars (and this last category includes scientists who write as well). Seriously.

Just the other day, I read this article on Nature, http://bit.ly/aa72f4 and decided to follow the respected writer, Erika Check Hayden on twitter. I loved the Mandelbrot set analogy she used. I followed her, tweet her, and nearly fainted of excitement when she responded back to my tweet. I. Am. Such. A. Nerd. (Please refer back to my previous statement: science writers are rockstars!). And afterwards I followed several other science writers/bloggers and always being amused of how you can have mutual contact via twitter when it comes to pop science and writing (also, thanks to Dr.Isis the Domestic and Laboratory Godess).

I think sometimes I just get tired of the intensity and seriousness of medical blogging and reading, and these pop culture in science and medicine give me new light on staying informed in a fun and relaxing way.

So thank you all twittering science writers!

* Rahajeng

Filed under: miscelaneous, , , , ,

Leave a Reply

png twitter

Follow my Twitter @ajengmd

Disclaimer

Medicine is a growing field, and information presented here is reflective of the time of posting. Please refer to your physician for direct medical consultation. My views do not reflect those of my employers. --
Regards, Rahajeng

